Season One Episode Guide

Winter Is Coming

Episode #: 101
U.K. Air Date: 18.04.11
Our Rating:

Following the death of King Robert Baratheon's right hand, the King and his family travel north to offer Lord Ned Stark the important position. Elsewhere, the exiled Prince Viserys Targaryen uses his sister, Daenerys, to form an alliance with a clan of brutish warriors in a plot to return to power.

The Kingsroad

Episode #: 102
U.K. Air Date: 25.04.11
Our Rating:

Ned rides south to take his place as King Robert's hand, while his wife remains at the bedside of their dying child. Jon Snow departs for watch duty on the northern wall, and a bit of dueling practice goes bad for Arya after Prince Joffrey interrupts. Meanwhile, Daenerys seeks a way to please her new husband and so turn the tables on their relationship.

Lord Snow

Episode #: 103
U.K. Air Date: 02.05.11
Our Rating:

Jon Snow receives a cold welcome from the other recruits at Castle Black, but manages to impress Tyrion Lannister, who has accompanied him to the wall. Ned arrives at King's Landing with his daughters, and is stunned to learn that the Crown is deep in debt. Catelyn shares her suspicions about the Lannisters with an old friend, and Viserys Targaryen discovers he can no longer control his sister.

Cripples, Bastards, and Broken Things

Episode #: 104
U.K. Air Date: 09.05.11
Our Rating:

Ned investigates Jon Arryn's death and his final days, leading him to a blacksmith's apprentice who may hold an important secret. Jon Snow comes to the aid of a new recruit who has no business being part of the Night's Watch, and the King hosts a jousting tournament in Ned's honor.

The Wolf and the Lion

Episode #: 105
U.K. Air Date: 16.05.11
Our Rating:

King Robert learns of the Targaryen alliance with the Dothrakis, and fractures his relationship with Ned by ordering the assassination of Daenerys. Lady Catelyn brings Tyrion to her sister for justice, despite his protests of innocence. Sansa's eye is caught by a handsome knight, and Jaime Lannister confronts Ned about his brother's capture.

A Golden Crown

Episode #: 106
U.K. Air Date: 23.05.11
Our Rating:

Tyrion attempts to defend his innocence and win his freedom under Lysa's perverse sense of justice. Ned sits on the throne while King Robert goes hunting, and places the kingdom in jeopardy by calling the Lannisters' powerful father to account. Fed up with Khal Drogo's inaction, Viserys demands the payment he is due.

You Win or You Die

Episode #: 107
U.K. Air Date: 30.05.11
Our Rating:

Ned confronts Cersei Lannister with what he has learned about her family, and House Lannister plans to march against the Starks if Tyrion is not returned. King Robert returns from his hunt gravely wounded, forcing Ned to decide where power will fall next. Jon Snow is dealt a personal blow, and an attempt is made on Daenerys' life.

The Pointy End

Episode #: 108
U.K. Air Date: 06.06.11
Our Rating:

Robb Stark must rally his family's allies from the North, marching south to war after Ned is branded a traitor and imprisoned at King's Landing. Tyrion struggles to stay alive during his return journey, and Sansa pleads before the King for mercy for her father.


Episode #: 109
Air Date: 06.12.11
Our Rating:

Catelyn Stark negotiates with a local lord to grant passage to the Northern army, as part of a plan to turn the tide of the war. Tyrion is called upon to lead the wild men of the Vale into battle for House Lannister, and Ned is summoned to confess his crimes against the Crown publicly. With her control over the Dothraki slipping away, Daenerys calls upon a witch to save Khal Drogo's life.

Fire and Blood

Episode #: 110
Air Date: 06.19.11
Our Rating:

Daenerys struggles with the consequences of her decision to try and save the Khal, while Arya goes into hiding at King's Landing. Tyrion's father sends him to the capital to regain some control over Joffrey. And as Jon Snow debates whether to forsake his vows to join the fight, the men of the North pledge their allegiance to a new king.