Season One Episode Guide

Encounter At Farpoint, Part 1

Episode #: 101
Air Date: 09.28.87
Our Rating:

Jean-Luc Picard is assigned to the U.S.S. Enterprise, taking the ship to Farpoint Station. But along the way, the crew is stopped by the powerful being Q, who challenges their right to be exploring the galaxy.

Encounter At Farpoint, Part 2

Episode #: 102
Air Date: 09.28.87
Our Rating:

Picard and crew must learn the secret of Farpoint Station to prove the ability of the human race to Q. Things are complicated when a giant space organism shows up in orbit and begins attacking the station.

The Naked Now

Episode #: 103
Air Date: 10.05.87
Our Rating:

The Enterprise crew is infected with a contaminant that impairs their judgment, driving them to do things they would never do.

Code of Honor

Episode #: 104
Air Date: 10.12.87
Our Rating:

The Enterprise negotiates a treaty for a rare vaccine, and Lieutenant Yar must fight for her life in a ritualistic combat scenario when she is kidnapped.

The Last Outpost

Episode #: 105
Air Date: 10.19.87
Our Rating:

Picard and his crew must confront a gang of Ferengi bandits on a hostile alien planet when the theft of an energy converter renders the Enterprise powerless.

Where No One Has Gone Before

Episode #: 106
Air Date: 10.26.87
Our Rating:

A test of the Enterprise's new propulsion system backfires, sending the ship into another galaxy.

Lonely Among Us

Episode #: 107
Air Date: 11.02.87
Our Rating:

The crew begins to experience unexplainable phenomenon on board after the Enterprise passes through an energy cloud, revealing the presence of a powerful alien consciousness.


Episode #: 108
Air Date: 11.09.87
Our Rating:

The crew enjoy shore leave on an inviting and peaceful planet, but an accident causes Wesley to be sentences to death. The Enterprise encounters a strange alien vessel in orbit.

The Battle

Episode #: 109
Air Date: 11.16.87
Our Rating:

Captain Picard discovers the wreckage of his former ship, and is caught in a Ferengi ploy to take revenge on him.

Hide and Q

Episode #: 110
Air Date: 11.23.87
Our Rating:

The powerful alien entity Q puts the crew of the Enterprise in the middle of a lethal contest, and gives Riker the unlimited power of the Q Continuum.


Episode #: 111
Air Date: 11.30.87
Our Rating:

Counselor Troi's mother unexpectedly arrives on board, informing Deanna of her impending arranged marriage.

The Big Goodbye

Episode #: 112
Air Date: 01.11.88
Our Rating:

Captain Picard takes a vacation in the holodeck, but a malfunction locks him and three other crew members inside.


Episode #: 113
Air Date: 01.18.88
Our Rating:

The crew discovers a disassembled android, and learns that it is Data's twin brother. They reassemble him, and soon learn the truth about the fate of the colony where the two androids were constructed.

Angel One

Episode #: 114
Air Date: 01.25.88
Our Rating:

The Enterprise search for survivors from a lost Federation freighter on a planet ruled by women, where Riker is forced to fight for the lives of the missing men.


Episode #: 115
Air Date: 02.01.88
Our Rating:

A group of super-intelligent alien scientists hijack the Enterprise, leaving only Picard and Riker to try and retake the ship -- and learn the Bynars' secret.

Too Short A Season

Episode #: 116
Air Date: 02.08.88
Our Rating:

The Enterprise ferries an elderly Federation ambassador to negotiate a hostage crisis, and the crew watches as he begins to grow younger and younger.

When the Bough Breaks

Episode #: 117
Air Date: 02.15.88
Our Rating:

Wesley Crusher and a group of the Enterprise children are taken captive by a secret, advanced society, in order to help propagate their dying race.

Home Soil

Episode #: 118
Air Date: 02.22.88
Our Rating:

The Enterprise visits a planet in the process of being terraformed, and discover that a microscopic alien life form is attacking the engineers.

Coming of Age

Episode #: 119
Air Date: 03.14.88
Our Rating:

Wesley takes the rigorous Starfleet Academy entrance exam, while Picard's competence is investigated by a Federation inquisitor.

Heart of Glory

Episode #: 120
Air Date: 03.21.88
Our Rating:

A pair of Klingon fugitives seize control of the Enterprise, forcing Worf to choose between his Klingon heritage and his loyalty to Starfleet.

The Arsenal of Freedom

Episode #: 121
Air Date: 04.11.88
Our Rating:

The crew investigates the disappearance of a Federation starship on an alien planet, and are attacked by the former residents' automated defense system.


Episode #: 122
Air Date: 04.18.88

The Enterprise answers a distress call, and the crew find themselves in the middle of a feud between two neighboring worlds over the cure to a plague that has gripped one of them for two centuries.

Skin of Evil

Episode #: 123
Air Date: 04.25.88
Our Rating:

An evil alien entity holds Counselor Troi hostage in a downed shuttle craft, forcing Picard and the crew to negotiate for her life. One crew member pays the ultimate price at the alien's cruel hands.

We'll Always Have Paris

Episode #: 124
Air Date: 05.02.88

Picard is reunited with his first love, as the Enterprise investigates a distortion in the space-time continuum.


Episode #: 125
Air Date: 05.09.88
Our Rating:

Picard learns that alien parasites have taken control of several high-ranking Starfleet officers. He and Riker must infiltrate Starfleet headquarters to expose the conspiracy.

The Neutral Zone

Episode #: 126
Air Date: 05.16.88
Our Rating:

The Enterprise encounters three cryogenically frozen people from the twentieth century, but is rushed off to investigate the destruction of Federation outposts along the Romulan Neutral Zone.