Season Two Episode Guide

The Curse of Cornelius Sigan

Episode #: 201
U.K. Air Date: 19.09.09

The Season 2 premiere finds new servant Cedric (Mackenzie Crook) elbowing his way past Merlin to become Arthur's manservant and turning the prince against the young warlock. Merlin soon learns that the slippery Cedric has a nefarious goal: to get his hands on a jewel found in a recently discovered ancient tomb. (TV Guide)

The Once and Future Queen

Episode #: 202
U.K. Air Date: 26.09.09

Wanting to win a jousting tournament thanks to his abilities rather than rank, Arthur disguises his identity with the help of Merlin and Gwen. Meanwhile, a bounty hunter arrives in Camelot intent on killing the young prince. (TV Guide)

The Nightmare Begins

Episode #: 203
U.K. Air Date: 03.10.09

Morgana fears that she may have magical powers when her nightmares spill into her waking life and, after turning to Gaius for help, seeks out the Druids for guidance. (TV Guide)

Lancelot and Guinevere

Episode #: 204
U.K. Air Date: 10.10.09

Gwen is kidnapped by the villain Hengist, who mistakes her for Morgana. Uther refuses to pay the ransom, so Arthur sets out to rescue her himself. Gwen, meanwhile, is reunited with Lancelot, who's also being held captive by the outlaw. (TV Guide)

Beauty and the Beast (Part 1)

Episode #: 205
U.K. Air Date: 24.10.09

Uther is besotted by Lady Catrina, who claims to be the lone survivor of a destroyed city but, in reality, is a filthy troll up to no good. (TV Guide)

Beauty and the Beast (Part 2)

Episode #: 206
U.K. Air Date: 31.10.09

The troll Catrina thrives as Camelot's queen and increases her influence over Uther. She also accuses Merlin of theft, which forces him into hiding lest he get beheaded. (TV Guide)

The Witchfinder

Episode #: 207
U.K. Air Date: 07.11.09

Uther arranges for a dreaded witchfinder to root out witches in Camelot. (TV Guide)

The Sins of the Father

Episode #: 208
U.K. Air Date: 14.11.09

Arthur is challenged to a duel by a mysterious warrior, an event that leads the prince and Merlin on a trek that unveils a secret that could lead to the end of Camelot. (TV Guide)

The Lady of the Lake

Episode #: 209
U.K. Air Date: 21.11.09

Merlin rescues a beautiful druid girl from a bounty hunter and hides her in the tunnels beneath Camelot. (TV Guide)

Sweet Dreams

Episode #: 210
U.K. Air Date: 28.11.09

Camelot hosts a peace conference that one attendee, King Alined, hopes to use to spur hostilities between kings Uther and Olaf by having his jester cast a spell that causes Arthur to fall for Olaf's daughter, which doesn't sit well with Olaf. (TV Guide)

The Witch's Quickening

Episode #: 211
U.K. Air Date: 05.12.09

A ruthless warlock and the druid boy Mordred ask Morgana for help in stealing a magical relic from the vaults of Camelot. (TV Guide)

The Fires of Idirsholas

Episode #: 212
U.K. Air Date: 12.12.09

In an effort to end Uther's reign, the sorcerer Morgause revives the formidable Knights of Medhir and convinces her half sister Morgana to cast a sleeping spell on the people of Camelot. (TV Guide)

The Last Dragonlord

Episode #: 213
U.K. Air Date: 19.12.09

In the Season 2 finale, the freed dragon attacks Camelot with a fury that cannot be defeated except by a dragonlord, all but one of whom were killed years earlier at Uther's behest. So Merlin and Arthur set out to locate the last dragonlord, who holds the key not only to the kingdom's future but to Merlin's past. (TV Guide)